Willys pickup wiper conversion issue… HELP!!!

So I need help.  My mechanic and I feel like we are missing something blindingly obvious. We are almost done with a 1961 Willys pickup for Great Frogs Winery in Annapolis Maryland.

The only thing holding us up is the wipers….

We bought an electric wiper conversion from Walck’s 4WD, a vendor I am normally ecstatic with.  However my pleas to them for help since last week when we tried installing the conversion have been avoided.  (I have called, and emailed, and my mechanic has called only to be told that they will try to get to checking the new motors.) I am annoyed. Not good customer service……

Here is the issue in pictures.  I would add video but that is pointless since….drumroll please…. you guessed it, they don’t work! Anyone who can help please email me or put a comment on this post. First off a view of the wiper assembly on the firewall.

Image

Now the windshield wipers are properly parked. The cables inside are all running parallel to each other.  The white arrow shows the direction the electric motor is trying to turn the wipers.  The red arrow is the direction the mechanism needs to turn in order for the wipers to move. They cannot budge in the direction the motor is trying to push them (white arrow remember please).

Image

And here is the back of the adaptor motor.  As you can see it will fit nicely into the wiper mechanism.  The white again is the direction the motor is trying to turn, the red is the direction the mechanism in the truck wants to turn for the wipers to move.

Image

And yes, the wipers are parked.

I may be a total idiot and be doing something blindingly stupid… if so let me know. PLEASE! I am not a genius, just a Swede with wrenches and a love of Jeeps. I was just hoping that the company that seems to have the experience and know how with these vehicles could advise me.  But since they will not hopefully one of you readers out there can help.

Thanks in advance!!

-Merlin

UPDATE: Finally got a call, a whole shipment of electric motors was manufactured wrong. For expediency we are going with a rebuilt vacuum motor now.

Leave a Reply

